Convictions of child molestation charges are very serious. Aside from mandatory prison time, probation, and restitution, those convicted must register as sex offenders for life. Many are also sentenced to on-going counseling.
California’s penal code imposes at least eight years for each felony count of lewd or lascivious acts with a minor under the age of 14. And each act is a separate felony charge. Further, in California, sexual intercourse or sodomy with a child 10 years or under is punishable in state prison for up to 25 years to life.
Aside from criminal charges, offenders may be open to civil suits resulting in more restitution.
If you are accused of child molestation, the sooner you contact an attorney the better. You need an experienced attorney who can help you navigate the judicial system.